Phishing Scam Targets MobileMe Users
Posted 02/27/2009 at 6:14am
| by Florence Ion
A new phishing scam targeting MobileMe users into providing their credit card information has surfaced the internet.
A scammer has sent out spam that appears to come from Apple, which directs users to a website that looks exactly like Apple’s. Users who follow the email link are then asked to enter in their personal information, including billing information.
The email arrives from noreply@mw.xom and the headers indicated that it actually originates from a server operated out of the United Kingdom. The email contains various formatting errors that should immediately tip off users that it’s a fake. The URL in the email links to http.apple-billing.me.uk.
It can be difficult to distinguish between what’s real and what’s harmful, since Apple has sent out a fair share of emails that appear just like the spammer’s fake ones. Check out below to see what the emails look like to make sure you don’t fall for the scam.
When in doubt, go directly to Apple's site without clicking on the URL from within an email.It's better to be safe than sorry.