If you've ever used a large file discovery tool like Daisy Disk, you may have stumbled upon a peculiarly large filed dubbed sleepimage. This file is a by-product of Safe Sleep and it's basically a saved state of your Mac's memory when it goes to sleep. MacBooks especially use this function your contents before the battery completely loses its charge. When you start up your system, the Mac will restore this data from the sleepimage file.
Regardless of how important this file may sound, it's actually completely unneccessary. So why not free up some hard disk space by eliminating it? Read on to find out how.